Hugor in MacOS Catalina

This is a discussion / support forum for the Hugo programming language by Kent Tessman. Hugo is a powerful programming language for making text games / interactive fiction with multimedia support.

Hugo download links: https://www.generalcoffee.com/hugo
Roody Yogurt's Hugo Blog: https://notdeadhugo.blogspot.com
The Hugor interpreter by RealNC: http://ifwiki.org/index.php/Hugor

Moderators: Ice Cream Jonsey, joltcountry

Jizaboz

Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Jizaboz »

Catalina broke both Wine (32 bit) and Hugor for me. Now if this were a computer that I purchased, I'd just roll back and try to stay there. However, it is not.

Is a 64 bit version of Hugor a possibility?
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

pinback

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by pinback »

This thread seems to indicate that it already is 64-bit: http://joltcountry.com/phpBB3/viewtopic ... 17&t=11252
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

RealNC

Post by RealNC »

It is 64-bit. What error message are you getting?

Jizaboz

Post by Jizaboz »

Well just like Wine is “also 32 bit” it just refuses to load. Is there a way I should try to load Hugor to get more debug info?
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

Jizaboz

Post by Jizaboz »

Also let me make this clear:

1. I am only aggravated with Apple.

2. The 64 bit bullshit is just what said company said is something that “breaks older apps”.
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

RealNC

Post by RealNC »

Try running it from the command line in the terminal with:

./Hugor.app/Contents/MacOS/Hugor

RealNC

Post by RealNC »

Did a backup of my macOS 10.13 dev setup and am firing up the upgrade to 10.15. If it doesn't foobar everything, I'll be able to check things out myself soon.

RealNC

Post by RealNC »