I'd like to hear a few words about #9.

Sports & Music

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

I'd like to hear a few words about #9.

Post by pinback »

At your leisure, of course.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Ice Cream Jonsey

Re: I'd like to hear a few words about #9.

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

I will do this for you.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

Ice Cream Jonsey

He was the best player on a team that I follow and I can't believe how lucky I am that I got to watch every one of Drew Brees's games with the Saints.

It was bad before he (and our coach, Sean Payton) came to town. We had one playoff victory in 2000... and got blown out the next game. Like, it was over within 8 game minutes. In some ways I care the most about those 1998-2005 teams, but when Drew came to town everything changed immediately.

I have memories of thinking that he was fragile. We added Brees and Reggie Bush that off-season (and many others) for Brees's first year. We thought he would crumble as soon as someone hit him. And... in that first game... 3 step drop. Pass to Bush. 3 step drop. Pass to Bush. We didn't know it at the time, but Payton had fixed our offensive line. But you can't injure a guy when he takes three steps and fires a missile.