Non-Fungible Tokens is the dumbest thing I've ever heard of

Video Game Discussions and general topics.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

Ice Cream Jonsey

Non-Fungible Tokens is the dumbest thing I've ever heard of

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

I keep looking for the part that shows that this dumb fad isn't colossally moronic. Haven't found it yet. I'll post an article describing it later, but if you see it in the news and think it's dumb, you are correct.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

pinback

Re: Non-Fungible Tokens is the dumbest thing I've ever heard of

Post by pinback »

Still. What exactly do you get when you buy an NFT?

This question unleashes a fury of debate among NFT enthusiasts.
NFT enthusiasts.

BAAahahahaha.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

AArdvark

Post by AArdvark »

I just now looked this up. It reaffirmed my belief that people are dumb.

THE KING
IS NAKED!
AARDVARK

Ice Cream Jonsey

This came to my attention when my wife told me that people were "bidding" over 2.5 million dollars for the "non-fungible token" rights to the fortunate idiot that made Twitter.

(There is another thread active at this exact time regarding how awful Twitter is and it's important to note that everyone involved with Twitter got lucky and to think they are any kind of visionaries draws the wrong conclusion about luck.)

My understanding is that an artist is able to create "tokens" and everyone just sort of agrees that they have something to do with something completely separate. But it doesn't mean anything. If it's just a money laundering thing, then cool, that's entirely legitimate! Well, not entirel-- you know what I mean.

AArdvark

Post by AArdvark »

https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-56368868

Someone really paid 69 million for a jpeg?

Dis whole darn world gone crazy!

Imagine how much a cheese themed Crazy Doodle is worth!

THE
BANK!
AARDVARK

Casual Observer