Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Hugo programming discussion. http://www.generalcoffee.com/hugo
Hugo By Example: http://hugo.gerynarsabode.org/index.php?title=Main_Page
Roody Yogurt's Hugo Blog: http://notdeadhugo.blogspot.com

Moderators: Ice Cream Jonsey, AArdvark

User avatar
Jizaboz
Posts: 1296
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Jizaboz » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:16 pm

Catalina broke both Wine (32 bit) and Hugor for me. Now if this were a computer that I purchased, I'd just roll back and try to stay there. However, it is not.

Is a 64 bit version of Hugor a possibility?

User avatar
pinback
Posts: 13342
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by pinback » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:17 pm

This thread seems to indicate that it already is 64-bit: http://joltcountry.com/phpBB3/viewtopic ... 17&t=11252
Above all else... We shall go on... And continue!

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:59 pm

It is 64-bit. What error message are you getting?

User avatar
Jizaboz
Posts: 1296
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Jizaboz » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:18 pm

Well just like Wine is “also 32 bit” it just refuses to load. Is there a way I should try to load Hugor to get more debug info?

User avatar
Jizaboz
Posts: 1296
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Jizaboz » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:19 pm

Also let me make this clear:

1. I am only aggravated with Apple.

2. The 64 bit bullshit is just what said company said is something that “breaks older apps”.

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:37 am

Try running it from the command line in the terminal with:

./Hugor.app/Contents/MacOS/Hugor

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Fri Oct 11, 2019 3:27 am

Did a backup of my macOS 10.13 dev setup and am firing up the upgrade to 10.15. If it doesn't foobar everything, I'll be able to check things out myself soon.

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:16 am

Hugor 2.2 works fine in macOS 10.15. However, directly after the OS upgrade, it took a long time before I could launch any 3rd party applications. It took over an hour for the new Apple anti-virus to check every file. I think what happens is that unless all files on the machine have been checked, you are not allowed to launch them. They just appear to get stuck at loading with their icon just bouncing until the anti-virus has checked everything.

User avatar
Ice Cream Jonsey
Posts: 21877
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 2:44 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:17 am

RealNC wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:16 am
Hugor 2.2 works fine in macOS 10.15. However, directly after the OS upgrade, it took a long time before I could launch any 3rd party applications. It took over an hour for the new Apple anti-virus to check every file. I think what happens is that unless all files on the machine have been checked, you are not allowed to launch them. They just appear to get stuck at loading with their icon just bouncing until the anti-virus has checked everything.
hahaha, wow. Wow. They really are shit.

Not that Microsoft is any better. I was forced to update the ole work computer on Friday and when it finished doing what it was doing, the keyboard did not work. (When I restarted the computer, it did.)

No keyboard. NO KEYBOARD.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:32 am

It's a clusterfuck. Almost nothing seems to work at an acceptable speed, if at all. The disk and CPU are constantly at full load and even clicking takes forever.

I gave up and created a bootable 10.15 install media, wiped the disk and did a clean install. That works fine. No issues whatsoever. It seems upgrading from an older macOS version instead of doing a clean install makes the OS shit itself.

User avatar
Tdarcos
Posts: 5536
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 9:25 am
Location: Arlington, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Tdarcos » Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:12 am

Jizaboz wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:19 pm
2. The 64 bit bullshit is just what said company said is something that “breaks older apps”.
IBM's zMachine mainframe computers are the latest 64-bit versions of the 24-bit System/360 and 31-bit System/370. You can take an application written, say, in 1975, for the 360, and run it unmodified on the z/System now, and it will still work.

It is possible to design systems to be 100% upward compatible. Having things fail because of processors becoming upgraded is unacceptably bad design. And yes, there actually are places still running software from the 1970s, because it does a specific job and it works. In some cases the software is still being maintained but parts of it go back that far.
"Shirt them a-tear up, trousers is gone/don't want to end up like Bonnie and Clyde."
-Desmond Dekker, The Israelites

User avatar
pinback
Posts: 13342
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by pinback » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:24 pm

There should be an app or program you can run on ANY IBM-style computer to know that, gosh darnit, this is a system capable of running any PC program I see fit.
Above all else... We shall go on... And continue!

User avatar
Flack
Posts: 6088
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:02 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Flack » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:27 pm

Have you considered purchasing an IBM zMachine mainframe from the 1970s?
"Jack Flack always escapes." -Davey Osborne

User avatar
Ice Cream Jonsey
Posts: 21877
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2002 2:44 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey » Sat Oct 12, 2019 7:52 pm

pinback wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:24 pm
There should be an app or program you can run on ANY IBM-style computer to know that, gosh darnit, this is a system capable of running any PC program I see fit.
A kind of gold standard?

I don't think there was one for the IBM PC.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

User avatar
Tdarcos
Posts: 5536
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 9:25 am
Location: Arlington, Virginia
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Tdarcos » Sun Oct 13, 2019 4:38 pm

Flack wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:27 pm
Have you considered purchasing an IBM zMachine mainframe from the 1970s?
The zSystems didn't.come out until about 1995. An IBM mainframe from 1970 would be a 360/145, would weigh about 5 tons for the processor, disk drives, tape drive, plus cabling and air conditioning. It would also eat about 30kW of power. And you could run applications for so 360 or 370 today, on the Hercules mainframe emulator software on a PC, and the software from the '70s would run faster now, on a $150 quad core PC than it did back then on hardware that leased (then) for $27,000 a month.
"Shirt them a-tear up, trousers is gone/don't want to end up like Bonnie and Clyde."
-Desmond Dekker, The Israelites

User avatar
Flack
Posts: 6088
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:02 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Flack » Sun Oct 13, 2019 8:00 pm

Have you considered purchasing an IBM zMachine mainframe from 1995, building a time machine, transporting it back 25 years, and then purchasing it in 1970?
"Jack Flack always escapes." -Davey Osborne

User avatar
Jizaboz
Posts: 1296
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Jizaboz » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:35 am

RealNC wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:37 am
Try running it from the command line in the terminal with:

./Hugor.app/Contents/MacOS/Hugor
mphipps@Poseidon:/Applications/Hugor.app/Contents/MacOs$ ./Hugor
-bash: ./Hugor: Bad CPU type in executable

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:14 am

Jizaboz wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:35 am
mphipps@Poseidon:/Applications/Hugor.app/Contents/MacOs$ ./Hugor
-bash: ./Hugor: Bad CPU type in executable
Right-click (or control+click) on the Hugor app and select "Quick Look". What does it say about the version of the app?

User avatar
Jizaboz
Posts: 1296
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:00 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by Jizaboz » Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:13 pm

RealNC wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:14 am
Jizaboz wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:35 am
mphipps@Poseidon:/Applications/Hugor.app/Contents/MacOs$ ./Hugor
-bash: ./Hugor: Bad CPU type in executable
Right-click (or control+click) on the Hugor app and select "Quick Look". What does it say about the version of the app?
Version 1.0.0
9.3 MB
Last modified Aug 15, 2012

Have I just got an outdated version?

User avatar
RealNC
Posts: 1454
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:32 am

Re: Hugor in MacOS Catalina

Post by RealNC » Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:15 pm

Jizaboz wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:13 pm
Version 1.0.0
9.3 MB
Last modified Aug 15, 2012

Have I just got an outdated version?
Yes. Very outdated. Current version is 2.2. Download it from here:

https://github.com/realnc/hugor/releases/latest

Post Reply