Surviving On The Fewest # Of Canned Goods Possible

Arcade Games & Cooking.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

Surviving On The Fewest # Of Canned Goods Possible

Post by pinback »

Does anyone here know about nutrition? Probably not since we're all either 500 pounds or are the size of nine-year-old girls.

But I'm curious:

Assuming a reliable water supply, what are the fewest different canned foods you'd need to survive indefinitely in a bunker after the nukular war, let's say.

Can you survive ONLY on canned beans?

Canned beans and canned peaches?

I'm looking for the simplest possible diet.

If it makes it easier, let's say we also have enough rice to last the rest of our lives. But if not, even better.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

RetroRomper

Post by RetroRomper »

Why are you doing this? Is this a diet / weight loss thing or are you stocking up for when Tdarcos is made an Admin of this forum?
"Don't you DARE get me started on RetroArch!"

This has been a...
RETROROMPER CLASSIC TM

RetroRomper

Post by RetroRomper »

Why are you doing this? Is this a diet / weight loss thing or are you stocking up for when Tdarcos is made an Admin of this forum?

This has been a...
RETROROMPER CLASSIC TM

RetroRomper

Post by RetroRomper »

The short answer is no... UNLESS:

You want scurvy, beriberi, be malnourished or otherwise feel like shit. See the following sites for actual breakdowns on nutrient needs and what you should be eating -

http://www.health.harvard.edu/womens-he ... rough-diet

http://www.realsimple.com/health/nutrit ... t-vitamins

Eating one or two foods is a terrible idea (unless its Soylent, then I have a case I'll sell you if you want it) as a diet or general life choice. See below -

DIETING RULE NUMBER 1: