True Art Cannot Be Spoiled

Celebrity Monologues. This base allows guest posting, but please register for the full experience.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

True Art Cannot Be Spoiled

Post by pinback »

If all something has going for it is unresolved dramatic tension, it is entertainment, but not art.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

AArdvark

Re: True Art Cannot Be Spoiled

Post by AArdvark »

So...where are you going with this?

Ice Cream Jonsey

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

Plus, all anyone means by spoilers is "someone died." That's it. Game of Thrones? Oh, don't spoil it! (Watches episode.) Ah, XXXXX died. Watches Infinity War? Oh my god! XXXXX died!

That's not ... whatever, that's what it is. I amazed it got that far. The worst thing about comics is the cheap, unearned melodrama because a character died. They bring everyone back. Even two people that were supposed to be dead because it was central to another's arc - Uncle Ben and Bucky - Bucky is happily running around. Jason Todd, the Robin that was killed in the call-in vote, is running around. (And you get people saying what an OMG GREAT STORY bringing them back is. It's juvenile, awful for the genre.)

And that is what TV and movies do now. It's so dumb.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

pinback

Post by pinback »

AArdvark wrote: Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:14 pm So...where are you going with this?
That was it. I was gonna write a bunch of paragraphs full of examples and basically restating the premise over and over in different ways, but that's not really necessary, is it?

Jonsey pretty much summed it up, anyway. If something can be "spoiled" by learning who dies, it may be fine, fine entertainment, and I would be irritated to have it "spoiled" too, but the thing that's getting spoiled isn't worth getting too riled up over.