Weird things about adopting from China.

Celebrity Monologues. This base allows guest posting, but please register for the full experience.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

Weird things about adopting from China.

Post by pinback »

1. The day they schedule to pick your kid up is called "Gotcha Day". All of the agencies involved, and everyone within them, will refer to it as "Gotcha Day". I find this twee and annoying, but not nearly as twee and annoying as:

2. All prospective adoptee children are referred to (again, by all agencies, in all media) as "kiddos". It's a rule they have. You will never hear a kid referred to as anything but a "kiddo", and you will never hear the day you pick them us referred to as anything but "Gotcha Day".

So Gotcha Day is when you pick up your kiddo.

It's really disconcerting, weird, twee, overtly manipulative, and annoying, and all I can say about it is:
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

RealNC

Post by RealNC »

Why are you adopting from China? Can't afford american kids or something?

pinback

Post by pinback »

RealNC wrote:Why are you adopting from China? Can't afford american kids or something?
Chinese adoptees have physical issues. American adoptees have mental/emotional issues. We're more prepared to handle the former than the latter.

Ice Cream Jonsey

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

RealNC wrote:Why are you adopting from China? Can't afford american kids or something?
I want to learn something from this godforsaken BBS today.

So, Americans adopt from China. Is there a "go-to" country that denizens of Greece adopt from, friend?
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

RealNC

Post by RealNC »

Ice Cream Jonsey wrote:So, Americans adopt from China. Is there a "go-to" country that denizens of Greece adopt from, friend?
Probably Germany. We get everything else from there, so why not kids too? It's nearby, cheap to travel to, short flight. No downsides...

FlyingCarp

Post by FlyingCarp »