ACK and Windows 10 64bit (updated)

Chris H.'s Ultima / ACS-style game development system!

Moderators: Ice Cream Jonsey, Chris H

Post Reply
ishtenos
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:37 pm
Location: In your imagination

ACK and Windows 10 64bit (updated)

Post by ishtenos » Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:09 pm

They don't play nice.

ACK has some really strange behaviors under Win 10 64 bit that I don't see with other DosBox programs I've used. Namely no screen updating, making it so you can't see what is happening. Yeouch. Not sure if anyone else has seen this?

--Update--

If anyone runs into this, go into the DosBox configuration file and change the render setting from Surface to Overlay and it will work fine again.

They now play nice.
~Ishtenos
@Roaming Cactus

Admiral Ackguh
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:26 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Admiral Ackguh » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:37 pm

Thank you.

Remind me not to Use Windows 10.
- A:A:

JoeBonked

Post by JoeBonked » Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:39 pm

Thank you ishtenos
Hear just horrible things about Windows 10
But at least it isn't windows 8 hehe
Vista was MS last great OS.
Windows 7 was a deliberate bullet to Vista
in order to roll out 8.
There never was a 9.
10 and 8 were just a way for MS to capitalize
on this amazing new phenomenon in which
everybody spends vast amounts of their daily routine
sifting through ads on smart phones.
The only reason I use MS is because my programs require it.

ishtenos
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:37 pm
Location: In your imagination

Post by ishtenos » Sun Sep 27, 2015 4:21 pm

You nailed it, W10 is basically the merging of Windows and smartphones. Yay?
~Ishtenos
@Roaming Cactus

Admiral Ackguh
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:26 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Admiral Ackguh » Sat Oct 17, 2015 11:14 pm

I'll say this much about Windows 7. It's the last half-decent version of Windoze.
- A:A:

Post Reply