Rick & Morty

Movies & Sex

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

pinback

Rick & Morty

Post by pinback »

Everyone says this is great. Everyone tells me this is great. Everyone is wearing T-shirts and doing memes and it's like totally the best thing ever.

Watched it a couple times. Never came close to 1) laughing, or 2) understanding why everyone thinks it's so great.

What am I missing? It seems like another case of (and I'm not thinking of any particular show in particular here, particularly) fast-and-loud talking being mistaken for comedy.
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

RealNC

Re: Rick & Morty

Post by RealNC »

+1

I tried to watch it too. I think it's nonsense. And I'm not sure whether I get the jokes and I just don't find them funny, or if they fly past me and thus am missing the actual humor.

Nah, it's just nonsense.

Casual Observer
Location: Everett, WA, 2 blocks from where the Green River Killer picked them up

Post by Casual Observer »

pinback wrote: Thu Sep 07, 2017 1:48 pm
What am I missing? It seems like another case of (and I'm not thinking of any particular show in particular here, particularly) fast-and-loud talking being mistaken for comedy.
it's funny because it's ridiculous, like a cartoon Monty python with lots of pop culture references but not stupid cutaways like family guy. Not every episode is hilarious, try the meeseks episode or look who is purging now or the one with Stephen Colbert as a start. Maybe I'm an old cynical bastard but I get a huge kick out of Ricks sarcastic cynicism, derision, selfishness and drunkenness.

Ice Cream Jonsey

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »