Twin Peaks

Movies & Sex

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

Flack

Twin Peaks

Post by Flack »

In this thread I will answer your questions about Twin Peaks, including the new season which, spoiler, there are no answers for.
"I failed a savings throw and now I am back."

pinback

Post by pinback »

What went wrong? Was it a case of Lynch just trying to throw as much weird stuff together as possible, and forgetting to include a story? Trying too hard to prove that he could still be "Lynchian"?
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Flack

Post by Flack »

Here's my theory: it's a perfectly coordinated train wreck.

In 1990, Twin Peaks aired against The Flash, Beverly Hills 90210, Cheers, and Seinfeld. It was completely different from anything else on television, and was hailed for being wildly original. But what was original and unique in 1990 is now common on television today. The cinematography and atmosphere of the original Twin Peaks was amazing, but is it any more amazing than Breaking Bad was? The drawn-out and confusing narrative was done by Lost (as were the "random numbers" which keep appearing in the Twin Peaks reboot). The original two seasons of Twin Peaks broke new ground, but it's not new anymore.