Lode Runner

Video Game Discussions and general topics.

Moderators: AArdvark, Ice Cream Jonsey

Ice Cream Jonsey

Lode Runner

Post by Ice Cream Jonsey »

I wrote a piece about Lode Runner on the blog. It's here:

http://www.joltcountry.com/index.php/fe ... ode-runner

The creator of Lode Runner, Doug Smith, reportedly died over the weekend.
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!

pinback

Post by pinback »

He died?
I don't have to say anything. I'm a doctor, too.

Tdarcos

Re: Lode Runner

Post by Tdarcos »

Ice Cream Jonsey wrote:I wrote a piece about Lode Runner on the blog. It's here:

http://www.joltcountry.com/index.php/fe ... ode-runner
I tried reading it. Do you think you could have made the font smaller so It'd be impossible to read instead of merely causing migraines and hysterical blindness?
The creator of Lode Runner, Doug Smith, reportedly died over the weekend.
Lode runner was "the gold standard" in testing IBM-PC compatibility. Like many games, it was a self-loader, i.e. it had its own operating system. And if Lode Runner would run on a computer it pretty much guaranteed it was PC compatible; a lot of clones weren't.

Me and a bunch of other guys created our own disk of a full alternate set of 150 more levels for the game with the included editor. Now, the way you win a level is to capture all the gold on the level, this would make any hidden ladders appear and you could then touch the top of the screen, allowing it to go on to the next level.

One guy was cruel with the last level (#150). There were 3 guards chasing you, and once you got the last piece of gold, the hidden ladders appeared to form the message "YOU LOSE" and no means to reach the top of the screen.
Alan Francis wrote a book containing everything men understand about women. It consisted of 100 blank pages.

Ice Cream Jonsey