FAQ Search Memberlist Usergroups
Jolt Country Forum Index
Register Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in
Log in Log in

BeOS

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Jolt Country Forum Index -> Hugo's House of Horrors
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ice Cream Jonsey



Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 20088
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 9:16 pm    Post subject: BeOS Reply with quote

Hey, does anyone know of an (active) BeOS forum that's out there? I am having a devil of a time trying to get my 3COM network card, Linksys router and cable modem all working in BeOS. It's very furiously not working right at me. At me, of all people!! I can't believe it.

I know there is some overlap between Hugo and BeOS, so I'll ask here.

Also, Google Groups really needs a quick way to let you search three newsgroups for keywords without making it a giant, strained and annoying effort.
_________________
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
bruce



Joined: 04 Jun 2002
Posts: 2547

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:46 am    Post subject: Re: BeOS Reply with quote

Ice Cream Jonsey wrote:
Hey, does anyone know of an (active) BeOS forum that's out there? I am having a devil of a time trying to get my 3COM network card, Linksys router and cable modem all working in BeOS. It's very furiously not working right at me. At me, of all people!! I can't believe it.


Uh. Is the cable modem on the other side of the router from the BeOS system, like any sane human would do it? (that is: is it one-o-them NATting routers, that you plug your cable modem into and it handles DHCP and NAT for everything behind it?)

If so, well, can you ping the router from BeOS? If not, it's your network card drivers. Which 3com card? Which BeOS?

Bruce
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ice Cream Jonsey



Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 20088
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:02 am    Post subject: Re: BeOS Reply with quote

bruce wrote:
Uh. Is the cable modem on the other side of the router from the BeOS system, like any sane human would do it? (that is: is it one-o-them NATting routers, that you plug your cable modem into and it handles DHCP and NAT for everything behind it?)


Yeah, I have a hub that I plug my systems into, I think there are three or four into it. Well, there used to be four but there are three right now thanks to some other stupidity that went on last night.

So my setup has the cable modem plugged into the router, the hub plugged into the router and all the actual computers plugged into the hub.


Quote:
If so, well, can you ping the router from BeOS? If not, it's your network card drivers. Which 3com card? Which BeOS?


The network card is one of those 3C905 jobbers. Really common, and everything indicates that it is wholly supported by BeOS. I believe I'm running the last version of Be, but I'll double check.

Not sure about pinging the router. The router is 192.168.1.1 ... does BeOS have a ping app? Or will putting that number into the default browser accomplish the same thing?

I used to be really good at this shit, but Be has me pretty confused. It also looks like everyone bolted from the community when Be went belly-up... all the sites that people have said are thriving, except for BeBits have been taken over by domain jumpers.
_________________
the dark and gritty...Ice Cream Jonsey!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
bruce



Joined: 04 Jun 2002
Posts: 2547

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:05 am    Post subject: Re: BeOS Reply with quote

Ice Cream Jonsey wrote:
Not sure about pinging the router. The router is 192.168.1.1 ... does BeOS have a ping app? Or will putting that number into the default browser accomplish the same thing?


I think BeOS has a ping. Fire up a Terminal window and find out.

Bruce
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lysander



Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 1694
Location: East Bay, California.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll want to figure out what your IP address is. If it's 0.0.0.0, well, this should be pretty ovious; something between the computer and the rounter is screwing up, and it's probably network driver madness. If, on the other hand, you have 192.168.XXX.XXX, (and I think you do( than your computer is fine, as it can go through the hub and into the router to recieve a private IP address--so you should, at least, be able to share files between the three computers now. Which means that somewhere between the cable network and your router is the problem. See if the service is down or something. Where I'm at, GCI uses 3com modems that have several indicator lights, and one of them will flash green, amber, black if there are problems with the cable signal. I personally think this is cool. Can you use the modem to hook up with anything else succesfully? If so, than that means that the cable modem is recieving signal properly. If it doesn't, than RobB, you are going to just ask yourself the hard questions. Like, "Do I have the coax cable screwed into the wall?"
_________________
paidforbythegivedrewbetterblowjobsfundandthelibertyconventionforastupidfreeamerica
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Jolt Country Forum Index -> Hugo's House of Horrors All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group

Theme by Kage Musha - RPG Garden

Copyrights and trademarks are all of the belonging company. No copyright Infringement intended